In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

Tuesday, May 19, 2020



AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

Release Date: March 10th, 2020
Genre: Romance/Fiction/Contemporary
Published by Simon & Schuster Audio
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ My Goodreads Rating 

BOOK BLURB:

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day—a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

When Type-A Manhattan lawyer Dannie Cohan is asked this question at the most important interview of her career, she has a meticulously crafted answer at the ready. Later, after nailing her interview and accepting her boyfriend’s marriage proposal, Dannie goes to sleep knowing she is right on track to achieve her five-year plan.

But when she wakes up, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. The television news is on in the background, and she can just make out the scrolling date. It’s the same night—December 15—but 2025, five years in the future.

After a very intense, shocking hour, Dannie wakes again, at the brink of midnight, back in 2020. She can’t shake what has happened. It certainly felt much more than merely a dream, but she isn’t the kind of person who believes in visions. That nonsense is only charming coming from free-spirited types, like her lifelong best friend, Bella. Determined to ignore the odd experience, she files it away in the back of her mind.

That is, until four-and-a-half years later, when by chance Dannie meets the very same man from her long-ago vision.

Brimming with joy and heartbreak, In Five Years is an unforgettable love story that reminds us of the power of loyalty, friendship, and the unpredictable nature of destiny.

MY THOUGHTS:

What if you wake up one day, 5 years in the future, and your life is totally different?  Different apartment.  Different fiancee.  How did this happen?⁠

Well, grab a copy of In Five Years and you're in for a ride! It's a love story, but don't jump into any conclusions, because the real love story is about a lifelong friendship and all the memories built throughout the years...the love of NYC, the love of bagels, the beach house, all the summers spent together, the careers they chose, and the promise of forever.⁠

Dannie and Bella have the kind of friendship you last saw on the movie "Beaches" (I know, that's an oldie) and I think I too, longed for that feeling.
OMG, so many feelings!

I liked this audiobook SO much that I now want a physical copy for my personal library!

“You mistake love. You think it has to have a future in order to matter, but it doesn't. It's the only thing that does not need to become at all. It matters only insofar as it exists. Here. Now. Love doesn't require a future.”⁠

⁠⁠🎧Thank you @librofm & @atriabooks #ALCprogram for the gifted listening copy!

No comments

Post a Comment

Copyright © TRENDY SIMPLE LIFE. Blog Design by SkyandStars.co